Sitting on the Fence

So I have a confession. I really don’t know if I’m a believer in the whole LCHF thing yet. I’ve oscillated between that and calorie counting for the last couple of weeks. I’ve gotta say, calorie counting is boring and obsessive and unjoyful so it doesn’t excite me much, but the methodical, logical part of my brain insists that approaching this whole exercise in a mathematical way will bring results. I mean, one plus one is always going to equal two, right? And this whole switching energy stuff (ie instead of using glucose, the body learns to use fat) seems a bit OTT. I feel like we should just eat food and our bodies should just do their thing.

But I’ve read literally reams and reams of information, by highly respected scientists and dieticians and endocrinologists, who insist that all calories are not created equal, that it’s actually quite difficult to accurately log calorie intake, and that the body treats different sources of food (and the calorie content) in different ways anyway. And I believe them. It makes sense. And they have the science to back up their claims.

And maybe that’s the problem. When I say we should just eat food and let the body do it’s thing, well, maybe it would if we were eating the right stuff?! Have carbs (high carb – bread, pasta, rice etc) been pushed on us because there’s money to be made in the whole process, but really we should only be eating low carbs, meats, and high quality fats? Hunter/gatherer stuff.

I feel like I’m in the middle of a great conspiracy and I’m just waiting for the ominous music to cue.

Who to believe? Which ‘diet’ to follow? And how soon can I get one of those “before/after” pics that everyone else seems to have?

Anyway. I have noticed a couple of things. When I eat LCHF, I don’t feel as bloated. Full but not fat. Which is interesting. And it’s very satisfying food and there’s a real pleasure in eating until I’m full, rather than eating with a sense of guilt (“I wonder how many calories I’ve eaten!?”). There’s a lot I still don’t know, but this isn’t a difficult way of eating. And the food isn’t horrible or difficult to prepare.

Upping the good fats is a little problematic as I’m allergic to avocado, one of the yummiest good fats. I’ve resigned myself to this, after many attempts to eat it which have resulted in an itchy throat, lips and tongue, sore stomach and feeling completely off for a 24hr period afterwards. It’s just not worth the discomfort.

That leaves me with nuts, coconut oil, butter, cream, cheese, and olive oil. Adding coconut oil to everything is definitely weird at first, and should be taken slowly (to avoid stomach upsets), but I’ve read a LOT of good stuff about it, so I’m happy to give that a go. Butter is a little sad without a fresh loaf of white bread to spread it on, but I’m willing to persevere for a little longer on that one too. Cooking in butter is definitely a lot yummier than cooking in canola oil.

I’m not missing the flour, the potatoes, pasta or the rice to be honest. Not like I thought I would anyway.

So all in all, I’d say the LCHF is winning by a smidgen just because it’s actually so easy to do. I’m going to give it 30 days.

I actually don’t know what I weigh right now because my hubby hid the scales (I had a little meltdown over the numbers on the screen). It’s a good thing really as I was pretty over the accusing glances it kept giving me, and it actually doesn’t matter how often I weigh, the numbers won’t change unless I physically change too. Which I’ll see soon enough if it’s working. So the scales are irrelevant and out of sight, out of mind. What a relief.

Oh, are you wondering about the feature picture? Looks like it can’t be any good for you, right? Well, they’re coconut flour pancakes, with bacon (cooked in butter), strawberries, a dollop of natural full fat greek yoghurt, some pecans and a tiny drizzle of maple syrup.  Surprisingly delicious, very filling and very LCHF. Good on me.

Leave a Reply

